Tuesday, July 28, 2020

On this day

1992 : Groundbreaking of Fla Marlins 7,500 seat spring training stadium

In 1991 in Tour de France, Spanish rider Miguel Induráin beat Gianni Bugno of Italy by 3' 36" for 1st of 5 consecutive Tour wins; Djamolidine Abdoujaparov was the points winner

In 2019 in 106th Tour de France, 22 year old Egan Bernal became first ever Colombian and Latin American winner; Points champion: Peter Sagan of Slovakia

Miguel Induráin

Miguel Induráin Larraya who was born on 16 July 1964, is a retired Spanish road racing cyclist. Induráin won five Tours de France from 1991 to 1995, the fourth, and last, to win five times, and the only five-time winner to achieve those victories consecutively.
He was a Giro d'Italia winner for 2 consecutive years (1992 and 1993); he was also the time trial world champion (1995), time trial Olympic champion (1996) and time record holder (1994) for two months.

No comments:

Post a Comment

  Highlights In 2009, in 98th Davis Cup, Spain defeated Czech Republic in Barcelona (5-0) In 2014, in 23rd SEC Championship Game, #1 Alabama...

Blog Archive